All things Holland

I’m so behind on posts it’s not even funny! I have tons to write about because, well, my life is exciting and fabulous like that *gigglecoughsnort*

A few weeks ago some of us at the homeschooling group began the adventure of getting together once a month for an international pot luck lunch. Each month we choose a different country to learn about, and on April it was all about Holland.

This is the part where I express my deep gratitude for being part of such an awesome group of ass-kickin’ mamas, ’cause things got kind of hectic for me before our luncheon and I wasn’t able to prepare anything *shame*. My friends totally got it, though. They rock.

To begin our Holland session, we kicked things off with a very Dutch meal:
Sausages wrapped in bacon
A mash of potatoes, carrots and some bacon
The most delicious wafer-like biscuits
Toast with butter and De Ruijter sprinkles

Please note the pure joy in Anna’s friend’s face as he dresses the heck out of that toast. I don’t blame you, kiddo. I was pretty excited myself.

Holl 1

I feel terrible for not remembering the names of each dish, but worry not, as it won’t happen again. I’ll make sure that I have my facts straight before blogging incomplete information. Sheesh on me!

Then, the kids began working on a craft. They each got a wooden box to decorate with a flower theme, as it is the tradition in the Netherlands.

Holl 2

Here are some of them when left out to dry:

Holl 3

And remember how I mentioned that I have awesome friends? Well, they’re hard-working, too! I have proof:

Holl 4

That’s Amy tracing out the pattern and Carol punching holes in what would become the kids’ very own “wooden” shoes. This is what they look like, modeled –conveniently– beside the tulips by a very cheerful non-Dutch:

Holl 6

To end our day, each kid got their own passport in which they drew the Dutch flag. Their passport was stamped as proof of “visit”. How cute is that?

Holl 5

What a crafty and adorable way of remembering our “journeys” in the years to come!

World, brace yourself. We’re coming for you.

About Caro

Writing about my life according to me. Quite convenient because you can't prove me wrong.
This entry was posted in Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to All things Holland

  1. Amy says:

    I love your blog such great shots 🙂

    Glad you were able to make it given lack of address LOL

    All I can say is TEMPUUUUURA ;-P

  2. Jessie says:

    Wow! First of all, I didn’t know you homeschooled. I’ve thought about it, but the sheer amount of work for it is daunting. Also, this sounds like an amazing way to learn about other countries. What cute activities and what fun!

  3. Hi there, just popped over from the Womens Colony. Love your beautiful pix. I admire your creativity and energy to do homeschooling. It would drive me crazy. But I think its a great thing to do! xx

  4. debbie says:

    I’m in total awe of all you homeschooling mamas…i wish there was a support group of parents here that would do something like that, but….not here in Nagasaki.
    I love those boxes….gives me an idea….

  5. Ana says:

    Hilarious blog! I just had to comment on this one… because I’m ‘half’ Dutch.

Leave a Reply

